Posted by: Ety W. | February 21, 2008

Why This Blog?

So. How do I answer that? No one knows anything about me or about this blog, so perhaps I should start by telling a little about myself and how I came to write it.

I became a SAHM over 24 years ago after my daughter was born. Of course, back then, the acronym hadn’t been thought of yet. “Stay at home mom,” yes, though I thought of it more broadly as “homemaker.” Of course, following my godly grandmother’s example, I always had a bend toward the domestic arts. Plus, being socially awkward, I have always been more comfortable at home. I’m a homebody.

But deeper than that, I have always had a conviction that children should be raised at home, by their mothers primarily, but by their fathers too, who through their different roles, provide both a framework and a nurturing environment in which children can thrive and mature.

Three years later my son was born. Somehow we survived the preschool years. I worked two days a week at our church’s Mothers-Day-Out program. When it was time for my daughter to start school, I wish I could say that I started homeschooling right from the beginning. But I didn’t. We did start with a Christian school, because I had a firm conviction about Christian education. In fact, it wasn’t until several years later that I met my first homeschool mom. I was curious, but not convinced. She was enthusiastic, but not pushy. Even so, she planted a seed.

The fruit of that seed was eleven years of homeschooling. We homeschooled all the way through high school graduation, and both my children went on to college. My daughter will be finishing up her master’s degree this spring, and my son will be completing his third year (in 4th major.)

So for the past few years, they have been off to college. My time without them has been more difficult than all my years of childrearing. Not that those years were easy! But they gave me purpose. And as much as I looked forward to pursuing my other interests after my children were gone, it just hasn’t been the same. I am fortunate that they are still close enough for us to spend vacations and holidays as a family. Yet, I realize that our relationship needs to change. The parent / child relationship needs to grow and mature as they have. One day they will each marry and have families of their own. I want to be supportive and enjoy those times in their lives as well.

In spite of that, it has taken me awhile to see myself as having an empty nest. Not that I haven’t tried to fill it with busyness. I am still a homemaker; a keeper at home. But I have more time on my hands. I have longed for a sense of purpose again.

I have prayed about this for several years: prayed about getting a job, finishing my master’s degree, volunteering somewhere, or starting a home business. But none of these settle well in my spirit. Then yesterday Titus 2:3-5 came to mind.

Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips, not enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be dishonored.

I’m not sure if I know how to do that. In fact I know I don’t. But perhaps I can just tell what I’ve experienced, right or wrong, and how the Lord has dealt with me through it. How He’s guided me and taught me. Hopefully, in some small way, I can be an encouragement to someone. So that’s what this blog is all about.


Responses

  1. Your blog has been a blessing! Will you be starting up your blog again any time soon?

    • LB, thank you so much for that. Your comment is a tremendous encouragement!

      I haven’t posted since I finished this series because the Lord didn’t give me anything else after that. What I am working on, is turning this blog into a book, with all the posts organized into sections. After that, who knows?


Leave a Reply

Categories

