Posted by: Ety W. | March 1, 2008

My Testimony 4: Back To The Land

This is part 4 of “My Testimony”. If you want to start at the beginning, click here.

The year passed quickly. Through letters and brief trips back to the farm, we were beginning to form a better idea of what we wanted as a group. We wanted to go back to the land. We wanted to live off the land without modern conveniences such as fuel powered machinery or electricity. We wanted to be prepared to weather any catastrophe that the governments of the world might inadvertently, or deliberately, produce. We wanted to be on our own, without any accountability to”The Establishment.” All we had to do was to find the land and to buy it.

I was able to pack up and leave New Orleans at the end of a year without giving it a second thought. I’d had worked as a waitress in a 4-star hotel and did fairly well in tips. I had some good times and made a few friends. However, I never took my eye off the goal; to buy our own land.

After a lot of preliminary research, the area we had finally settled upon was the Ozarks. The climate there was fairly mild, the land was fairly cheap, and the mountains offered privacy. At the end of our year of working and saving, we agreed to meet in a little valley in the heart of the Ozarks. There, the friend of a friend of a friend lived, already committed to the same sort of lifestyle we were looking for. His would be a good place from which to look and decide on the perfect place to begin our new lives

The trip from New Orleans to the Ozarks seemed a long one to me. We rented a van and drove all night to get there. On this trip, I remember doing a lot of contemplating about why I was doing this. I had figured out a couple of things. Firstly, that society was definitely heading in the wrong direction. Secondly, that I didn’t want any part of it. I knew that I was looking for something, I just hadn’t figured out what. Yet. My theory was this: that if only I could get away from society and any trace of everything it produced, then somehow Nature would reveal to me whatever it was that I was looking for.

It was almost dawn as we made the final leg of our journey. Once we passed the last town (a general store, a post office, and a few houses), the dirt road was about 5 miles or so until our destination. Looking back, I’m not sure how we found our way, but somehow, our course was as though we had traveled it every day of our lives. We knew where we were going.

As the sun rose and the shadows turned into trees and rocks and mountains, my excitement began to rise as well. It was not the excitement of my situation. It wasn’t because at long last my year of working was up, and a new beginning lay before me. It had nothing to do with seeing friends again, or with starting something new. This excitement was something I hadn’t experienced before. It was different.

As we traveled deeper and deeper into the solitude of those mountains, I knew from the very wellspring of my soul, that I was going to find God.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.

Click here for part 5.


Leave a Reply

Categories

