Posted by: Ety W. | March 6, 2008

My Testimony 7: The Confrontation

This is part 7 of “My Testimony”. If you want to start at the beginning, click here.

This was one of those incidents in my life that stands all by itself in my memory. There is nothing particular about the events leading up to it that I can recall. It had simply been another typical day in our communal life. Or so I thought.

It was a chilly evening in April when the group told me they wanted to talk to me. We went into one of the tipis to sit around the fire for warmth and light. There were about four or five of them. They sat as a group on one side, and I sat by myself on the other. One of the men spoke up and, not beating around the bush, told me straight out that they didn’t want me there anymore.

“This is not your home. You are not welcome here and you have to leave.”

If I was given a reason why, it is just a blur in my memory. I don’t remember how I responded or what else was said. All I knew was that I wasn’t wanted and that I had no place to go. All I knew was that I would have to leave.

In the next few days of confused bewilderment, I stayed with a friend in town. We talked, and I tried to understand why this had happened. I had never expected anything like it, so I tried to figure out what I had done wrong. My friend told me I had just been a scapegoat. That it was all about a power play. But that didn’t stop me from reflecting on my own faults and failures. I didn’t understand what had happened, but I wasn’t going to fight back. I could not live where I wasn’t wanted. So I walked away from the life I had been trying to build, and tried to think what to do next.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.
Click here for part 8.


Leave a Reply

Categories

