Posted by: Ety W. | March 15, 2008

My Testimony 10: Questions & Answers

This is part 10 of “My Testimony”. If you want to start at the beginning, click here.

Having been raised in a “high” Episcopal church, the formality of the Russian Orthodox sacraments and liturgy was comfortable to me and made sense. It also fit into my understanding of ritual in general; rituals were performed with the expectation of spiritual results. Years later, my Christian walk has taken me away from this denomination, and now I would have expected to be led in the sinner’s prayer right then and there. At that time however I had many questions, and Fr. D was patient to answer all of them.

Once I understood that Jesus was the God I was seeking, I wanted to know what to do next. I learned that it was sin that kept us separated from God, so it was my sin that would have to be dealt with. This revelation was quite a relief to me. At last I could finally do something. My years in the Ozarks of trying to find God had been a frustrating effort in futility. I was eager to get started.

I learned that the first thing I must do was to renounce my sin. In order to do that I needed to know exactly what sin was. I learned that sin was everything that separated us from God; all of the acts and attitudes that weren’t part of His plan for us. I learned that in fact, we were born with a sin nature and because of that, were unable to overcome sin by ourselves. We needed to repent, which meant to turn away from; to utterly reject not only our own selfish plans and motives, but our sinful nature as well. I was very willing to do this. I wanted nothing to do with anything that kept me separated from God.

Over the next several weeks during the Sunday services, I publicly renounced sin, working my way through a very long list of specifics; everything from lying and stealing to witchcraft and adultery. There was even a prayer to repent from anything left unnamed. This was a very serious and sincere time for me, as it prepared me for the next step, baptism.

Without arguing the legalities of the place and purpose of baptism, I can only tell you what it meant to me then. In my mind it was the specific, deliberate point in time where I would go before God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Having repented of my sin, I would formally and officially acknowledge that Jesus had taken the punishment for my sin and had paid the penalty by dying on the cross. I would also acknowledge that He overcame sin and death through His resurrection, and that He is alive and well even now, in heaven with God. In my mind, my immersion was that exact point in time when I would no longer identify with the world and it’s error, but would identify with my God as His child. I would officially become Christian.

I approached my baptism with much anticipation and excitement. It took place on a chilly April morning in an Appalachian spring-fed pool. When the shock of being submerged in that icy cold water caused me to catch my breath, I breathed in my new life in Christ. Nothing was ever the same again.

So that is my beginning. From that moment onward, the Lord has worked both providentially and miraculously in my life over the years. I could go on and on about those things but I won’t. That’s not the purpose of this blog. However, I felt that before you should accept what I write, you need to know to Whom I belong and how I got there.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.


Responses

  1. Hi Ety,
    Wow what a testimony you have shared. I was so encouraged by what I read and I was reminded of Jeremiah 29:11-14, but especially 13,14 Then you will seek me, inquire for, and require Me(as a vital necessity and find me when you search for me with all your heart. i will be found by you says the Lord.
    God is so faithful and your testimony is proof to that.

    I have read lots of your blog thank you for sharing your heart and so, much wisdom, I am blessed 🙂

    Thank you.

  2. Thank you Jenny! You’ve made my day. I love those verses from Jeremiah too. They are precious to me as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

