Posted by: Ety W. | March 26, 2008

How Do YOU Read The Bible?

When I first became a Christian, I fell in love with reading my Bible. I set aside time every day, with my cup of morning coffee, to read it. It was alive to me, and personal. My time with The Lord was such a highlight in my day, that eventually I couldn’t have a cup of coffee without feeling that I should be reading my Bible.

I have to admit that immediately after my conversion, I really wasn’t sure if all of the Bible was true and reliable. I certainly accepted the Gospels, because these were the life and words of Jesus, the God I had searched so long for. The rest of it I wasn’t sure about. I can’t put my finger on how or when I came to understand the whole thing to be the Word of God. What I can tell you is that everything changed for me when I started taking Precept Upon Precept Bible Study classes.

One of the things I realized from these classes was that previously, I hadn’t actually been studying the Bible, rather, I’d been scanning it. My Bible was full of underlined passages that spoke to me, but as I went to the Precept classes and started to learn how to study God’s Word, it became alive in a way I’d never known possible. At that point I lost all interest in television, books, and movies; studying the Bible became the most fascinating thing in my life. I felt as though I had gone from simply walking through the Word and picking up nuggets of gold, to digging deep and mining gold for myself.

Basically, there are two ways to approach the Bible.

The most common is to see what others say about the Bible through commentaries, handbooks, preachers, teachers, scientists, the latest book from the Christian bookstore, etc. There can be value in this, yet look at what Luke writes:

And the brethren immediately sent Paul and Silas away by night to Berea; and when they arrived, they went to the synagogue of the Jews. Now these were more noble-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily, to see whether it was so. Acts 17:10-11

Of course, I added the italics to make my point. Notice, it doesn’t say that they received the word with great eagerness and then discussed it amongst themselves to see how they felt about it. Nor does it say they sought others’ opinions about it. Rather, those who used the Scriptures as the standard for judging what Paul and Silas said, were called “noble-minded.” I don’t know about you, but I would certainly rather be classified as “noble-minded” than what the opposite implies.

The second approach is to let the Bible speak for itself. It begins with the Bible and uses the Bible as it’s own commentary. Rather than asking, “What do others say about the Bible,” it asks, “What does the Bible say about the Bible.” This method is a bit more scientific in it’s approach. By that, I mean that it uses specific principles to read, interpret, and apply Scripture. I learned this process in my Precept classes, and can apply it to any book of the Bible without a formal study guide. Actually anyone can, and I’ll give you a rundown on that next.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

