Posted by: Ety W. | April 2, 2008

The Women of Titus Chapter 2

I seem to have taken the long way back around to the reason I started this blog in the first place. I think though, especially when dealing with the Bible, that it important to understand something about the person speaking/writing (see My Testimony), and something of what they believe, (see “Definition of a Christian” and “The Holy Bible: Word of God? Or Word of Man?“). Now that these things are out of the way, I want take a look at the book of Titus.

As we read through through Titus and begin the process of observation by examining the text for “who,” we see that it was written by the Apostle Paul to Titus, a fellow worker for the gospel. We also see that Paul mentions seven groups of people: elders (overseers), deceivers, older men, older women, young women, young men, and bondslaves. One question we may want to ask about this, is why? In chapter 1 verse 5, we get an idea of Paul’s purpose in writing to Titus.

For this reason I left you in Crete, that you might set in order what remains, and appoint elders in every city as I directed you…. Titus 1:5

(See the introduction to the chapter, The Women of Titus Chapter 2)

The first two groups of people mentioned, elders and deceivers, point back to Paul’s instruction to appoint elders in every city. The other five groups are the reason for his instruction to set the new body of believers in order. Unlike the book of 1st Corinthians, which deals with order in regards to church worship, the book of Titus deals with how individuals are to live orderly lives.

Two groups of women are mentioned: older and younger. What is Titus to tell them? As we look to answer that, we can make two lists.

Older women (2:3-4) are to be instructed to:

~ Be reverent in their behavior
~ Not be malicious gossips
~ Not be enslaved to much wine
~ Teach what is good
~ Encourage the young women

What are they to encourage the young women to do (2:4-5)?

~ Love their husbands
~ Love their children
~ Be sensible
~ Be pure
~ Be workers at home
~ Be kind
~ Be subject to their own husbands

Why? To honor the word of God (v. 5).

I found it interesting that Paul tells Titus to instruct the older women, but they in turn are to encourage the young women. How are they to do this? By the example of their behavior and with their words.

How many of you have heard (or said), “Do as I say, not as I do?” As a kid I must have heard my mother say that a million times. She was telling me not to follow her example, but her instructions. A pretty common method of leadership, wouldn’t you say? In 1 Peter 5:1-3, Peter addresses two types of leadership.

Nor yet as lording it over those allotted to your charge, but proving to be examples to the flock. 1 Peter 5:3

One can either lead by bossing folks around, or lead by example. Why is that important? Well, think of another pretty common saying – “Everybody does it.” How many times have we heard that! But it makes a point; human nature judges its own actions by what others are doing. Christians however, are not to follow this pattern. Christians are not only to heed the instructions of Scripture, but also to set a godly example for others to follow. Jesus said:

If I had not come and spoken to them, they would not have sin, but now they have no excuse for their sin. John 15:22

Not only did Jesus instruct them, but He set the example because He did not sin Himself. In other words, the excuse “everyone else does it” no longer applies. As followers of Christ, we are expected to not sin either, no matter what others are doing. Either way, we set an example.

One of the greatest eyeopeners I have ever experienced happened when my daughter was a preteen. It was Saturday, our usual day for major housecleaning chores. On this particular day, I happened to be gone for most of the morning. When I returned, my daughter had finished all the housework, including the chores I usually did. My husband, who noticed what a good job she had done, complimented her on it. “Well,” she replied, “I just did what I thought Mom would do.” He told me this as a compliment, but actually it quite shocked me. She had been observing me even though I didn’t know it and had followed my example when faced with the same task. What a humbling experience.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.
This begs the obvious questions then. Who is watching you? Children? Family? Friends? Neighbors? Co-workers? Others? Who are you setting an example for? Like it or not, all of them.

So then. May I close by encouraging you with what I try to keep in mind myself:

….. let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds. Heb. 10:24

Next … Who Do You Admire?


Responses

  1. Wow. I have read all your post up to this one and I am humbled. By your testimony and gentle encouragement.

    That question: Who is watching you? Children? Family? Friends? Neighbors? Co-workers? Others? Who are you setting an example for? Like it or not, all of them.

    I do not have children, and I did not think anyone would look to me as an example – but people do watch me. They may not look to me to be an example, but that does not mean that I am not an example.

    Thank you.

  2. <>

    Very well said. We’re all aware of the attitude and behavior of those around us. Sometimes I see traits in others that I want to develop in myself. But sometimes I think, ‘no way!’ I figure others look at me and think similar thoughts. Hopefully that exhorts us to do well!

    Razzler, thank you for your kind words. I pray that my life and words may be an encouragement to others, and that I handle the Word of God accurately.


Leave a Reply

Categories

