Posted by: Ety W. | April 22, 2008

Is Faith Blind?

“Blind faith.” Admirable or foolhardy? I admit that I’m not even sure where the term came from. Does it mean a faith so trusting as to leap off a proverbial cliff without knowing where one will land? Does it mean an ignorant faith, assuming things without knowledge? Or does it somehow refer to Jesus’s healing of the blind? Is it an appropriate way to describe an important tenant of Christianity?

The verse under study here is Titus 2:2, in which older men (and likewise women, v. 3) are told to be “sound in faith.” Having already studied the word sound and understanding it to mean “whole, true in doctrine,” we need to take a look at the word faith next.

Faith -Strong’s 4102 – πιστις – pistis = persuasion, conviction of religious truth or the truthfulness of God, especially reliance upon Christ for salvation; abstractly, constancy in such a profession; by extension, the system of religious truth itself.

It is used 244 times in the New Testament. In one of them, the Bible offers its own definition:

Now faith is the assurance (substance) of things hoped for, the conviction (evidence) of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1

What does it mean then, to be “sound in faith”? By combining our two definitions, it could be said that it means to have an assurance or conviction based on whole, accurate doctrine or teaching, not just on what we have empirical, visible proof for.

Going back to our original question (is faith blind?), we can now say that a sound faith is not a blind faith. Sound faith is a confidence based on the full knowledge of something. Even so, does this mean that faith is simply a matter of accepting that knowledge as true?

As Christians, we do know that certain knowledge is required for salvation:
1. I must understand that I have sin, i.e. I am disobedient to God, and that there is an eternal consequence for this; death. Death is the penalty for sin that absolutely must be paid.
2. I must know that I can never pay that penalty on my own. Because of this, God Himself became a man, took my place, and willingly accepted death for my sin.
3. I must understand that by doing this, Jesus overcame death forever, and that eternal life is available to everyone.

Simply knowing this is not enough however.

You believe that God is one. You do well; the demons also believe and shudder. James 2:19

Knowledge and belief alone are not enough for salvation, I must act on it as well.
1. I must own up to my sin without making excuses. I must utterly reject my sin and turn from it forever.
2. I must accept what Jesus did for me by dying on the cross, and I must receive His free gift of eternal life.

Those actions then, are what require faith.

So then. Are you good to go in this department? Been there, done that, got the t-shirt? Checked that box and ready to get on with life? In other words, is salvation all there is to being sound in faith? I want to take a look at that….Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.
next …Faith is an Action word


Responses

  1. Excellent distinctions! When Christians refer to “blind faith” it bothers me, because that isn’t the biblical model at all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

