Posted by: Ety W. | April 24, 2008

Faith is an Action Word

About 18 years ago, I heard Dr. Tony Evans preach at Second Baptist Church in Houston, TX. He made a statement about faith which made quite an impression on me. He said, the opposite of faith is not doubt, the opposite of faith is disobedience. In my last post I attempted to demonstrate the truth of this though word studies. Biblically, faith is defined as more than simple belief; rather, it is an accurate knowledge of which we are so convinced that it makes a difference in our lives.

For the Christian, that begins with repentance and salvation. When I look around however, I see too many Christians for whom salvation doesn’t seem to make a difference. On occasion I ask some of them about their relationship with the Lord. They know that Jesus died for their sins and that now they are going to heaven. God’s will for their lives is to go to church and try to do good. But too often they don’t live any differently from the unsaved, and the evidence of their Christianity focuses only on a particular point in time; their salvation experience. I have a heavy burden for such as these. Salvation isn’t supposed to be the pinnacle of our Christian walk; it is supposed to be the beginning.

As Paul said to Agrippa,

…… they should repent and turn to God, performing deeds appropriate to repentance. Acts 26:20

That is biblical Faith. The book of James speaks much on this. For example,

What use is it, my brethren, if a man says he has faith but he has no works? Can that faith save him? James 2:14

Now, if the reader assumes that faith is only a matter of belief, then the conclusion will be that works are necessary for salvation. However, if the reader understands that faith is acting on that belief, then we see that James is trying to make a point.

You see that a man is justified by works, and not by faith alone. James 2:24

The point is, that our actions prove what we really believe. Let’s try to bring this down to a personal level. For example ….

I recite Phil 4:19 and say that I believe God will meet all my needs. But …
… I pray for God to provide something, then run out and use my credit card to get it.
… My garage is full of things I could donate to the needy but don’t, just in case I might need them.
… When I think my prayers aren’t being answered, I get mad at God.
… I don’t tithe because then I won’t have enough to pay my bills.

Faith is not believing that God can do something; rather it is trusting Him before He does something.

Okay. Let’s bring this full circle. The point of these last two posts is to examine what it means in Titus 2:2 to be “sound in faith.” We need to understand that faith is not a matter of mental agreement, positive thinking, or opinion. Rather, is action based on accurate knowledge; it is proof of a life in Christ. However, I think James said it best,

For just as the body without the spirit is dead, so also faith without works is dead. James 2:26

Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.Next … Love: More Than a Feeling?


Responses

  1. Wow, you mean there are actually some people who feel the way I do?

    Your post is right on.


Leave a Reply

Categories

