Posted by: Ety W. | May 1, 2008

Behavior Check for Women in Christian Leadership

The entire Encourage The Young Women Bible study is now available in paperback.
For more information, click here.
For a 25% discount for blog readers and followers, click here.

Tuesday we finished a deeper look into Titus 2:2 which, as we saw, gives us a description of Christian maturity. Although specifically referring to older men in that verse, it applies to women as well. We know this by virtue of that little word likewise. Today, I want to start taking a look at the next verse.

Older women likewise, are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips, nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good that they may encourage the young women… Titus 2:3-4a (NASB)

Who is being discussed? Older women.
What is the first thing they are to do? Be reverent in their behavior.
Why? That they may teach and encourage the young women.

Let’s start with a word study.

Reverent – Strong’s 2412 – ìεροπρεπης – hieroprepes = reverent, rendered in KJV as “as becometh holiness.” Vines1 explains further, “suited to a sacred character, that which is befitting persons, actions, or things consecrated to God.” Titus 2:3 is the only time this word is used in the New Testament.

Behavior – Strong’s 2688 – καταστημα – katastema = a position or condition, demeanor. As with reverent, this is the only time it is used in the New Testament.

Putting the two together, reverent behavior doesn’t mean random acts of deference, rather it refers to a manner of life which reflects a one’s total dedication to God.

This is especially significant because of the leadership role that the older women are to assume as teachers and encouragers. As a Christian leader, one’s life is to be consecrated to God and it ought to show, not only in outward actions, but in demeanor as well. Why? Because biblical leadership is done by example.

Nor yet as lording it over those allotted to your charge, but proving to be examples to the flock. 1 Peter 5:3

Christian leadership is not telling others what to do and how to do it. It is showing others these things. Christian leaders are role models. We took a close look at that in “The Women of Titus Chapter 2”, but we see here that it’s not just a matter of how we behave. Christian leadership begins with a life consecrated to God. The responsibility and accountability for this is great,

Let not many of you become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we shall incur a stricter judgment. James 3:1

Knowing then, that we will be held accountable for how our lives influence others, I’d like to close with some question for self reflection:

Is my life 100% set apart to God and for His service?
Do I act like it?
Does it show in my attitude?
In my speech?
Is there anything in my life that I am keeping for myself?
Is there anything I wouldn’t want my pastor to catch me doing/saying?
What things in my life would I not want others to imitate?

It’s not that we are perfect in these things, but that we are striving to achieve them though prayer and study of God’s Word, taking comfort in the fact that the Lord knows our hearts.Content copyright 2008 by https://encouragetheyoungwomen.wordpress.com/. If you find it anywhere else, it’s been stolen.
1 W .E. Vine, Merrill F. Unger, and William White, Jr., Vine’s Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words, (Thomas Nelson Publishers, New York, 1985), p.55


Responses

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something
    that I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for
    your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

