Posted by: Ety W. | August 23, 2008

Prov. 31:11 & 12 – A Husband’s Trust

The entire Encourage The Young Women Bible study is now available in paperback.
For more information, click here.
For a 25% discount for blog readers and followers, click here.

This is part 3 in a series on the Proverbs 31 Woman. To start at the beginning, click here.

The heart of her husband trusts in her,
And he will have no lack of gain. Prov. 31:11

For a verse that is easy to overlook, this one says a lot.  No, it doesn’t say anything about the Excellent Woman directly, but her husband’s response to her is a reflection on her character as well as their relationship.

I’d like to start by looking up two words in this verse:

Heart – Strong’s 3820 – לב – leb = the heart; figuratively used widely for the feelings, the will, and even the intellect.  Also translated mind, understanding, wisdom.

Trust – Strong’s 982 – בּטח – batach = to hasten toward refuge; figuratively to trust, be confident, be secure in, be sure.  The KJV says “doth safely trust in her.”

What do we see?  A woman who evokes her husband’s complete confidence in her, not only in the way she manages their home and raises their children, but in their relationship as well.  She doesn’t use her strengths and abilities to try to undermine him, but to strengthen the unity between them.

What does she do specifically to possess this trust? Scripture gives a few details:

And he will have no lack of gain. Prov. 31:11

She does him good and not evil
All the days of her life.  Prov. 31:12

Verse 11 tells us he has no lack of gain.  The KJV words it, “he shall have no need of spoil.”  I’m not sure if this because together, they have accumulated enough wealth to have financial security.  Or because of how well she manages their money, or because he’s so content with their relationship that he has no desire to chase after anything else.  At the very least we see that he is content with their lifestyle as well as their relationship.

From verse 12:

Good – Strong’s 2896 – טוב – towb = kind, benign, pleasant, agreeable, benefit, welfare

Evil – Strong’s 7451 – רע – ra = bad, calamity, misery, distress, injury

In other words, she is not simply nice to him, but she always (“all the days of her life”) has his best interests at heart.  She doesn’t seek to hurt him or undermine him, rather she keeps his welfare in mind and seeks to benefit him

What we see in their marriage, is a fulfillment of God’s original intention for marriage: unity.  We also see an example of what it means to be a godly Help Meet.

Time for prayerful reflection:
Do I always have my husband’s needs in mind?
Do I have his best interest’s at heart?
Is my home a refuge for him?
Do I council with my husband before making decisions?
Do I follow his advice?
Do I insist on doing everything my own way?
Do I do things behind his back?
Do I keep secrets from him?
Am I trying to change him?
Do I complain about him behind his back?
Do I feel I have to correct him?
Do I continually have to prove I’m right?
What am I doing to nurture trust between us?

We’ll start looking at verse 13 next time.


Responses

  1. […] Trustworthy – v 11 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

